The DeWitt Wallace Center for Media & Democracy is Duke University’s hub for journalism and media studies. We study the interaction between media and policy; we support watchdog and accountability reporting in the U.S. and around the world; and we teach about the media’s role in democracy. Founded in 1973, the Center is part of the Sanford School of Public Policy, and we share the school’s mission to improve lives through research, leadership, civic engagement and public service.


The DeWitt Wallace Center offers over 20 undergraduate and graduate courses designed to give students a thorough understanding of the principles and the practice of journalism.  Together with support from Trinity Arts & Sciences, the Center hosts the Policy Journalism and Media Studies Certificate, an undergraduate certificate program for students aspiring to become future journalists, or private and public sector leaders who will interact with the media.  To register for DeWitt Wallace Center media courses, look for courses listed under the subject code PJMS.


The Center faculty lead collaborative research hubs, and also conduct independent research. All research programs offer opportunities for undergraduate and graduate researchers.


The Center supports four chaired professors including three professors of the practice and one academic chair, and several adjunct faculty.

Faculty Chairs include:

Bill Adair, James L. Knight Professor of the Practice of Journalism and Public Policy

Frank Bruni, Eugene C. Patterson Professor of the Practice of Journalism and Public Policy

Stephen Buckley, Eugene C. Patterson Professor of the Practice of Journalism and Public Policy

Philip Napoli, James R. Shepley Professor of Public Policy


Speakers and Events

The Ewing Lecture on Ethics in Journalism
The Ewing Lecture is delivered annually by an invited guest lecturer on media ethics.

Futrell Award for Outstanding Achievement in Communications and Journalism
The Futrell Award is presented annually to a Duke University alumnus for outstanding achievement in the field of communications and journalism.

Melcher Family Award for Excellence in Journalism
The Melcher Award annually recognizes an undergraduate writer at Duke University for the best journalistic piece produced in the previous year.

John Fisher Zeidman Memorial Colloquium on Politics and the Press
The Zeidman Colloquium convenes panels comprising some of the most well-known journalists of our time to discuss the relationship between media and politics, held biannually during election years. The next Zeidman Colloquium will take place in the fall of 2012, coinciding with the U.S. presidential election.